The Creation of a Masterpiece

Chicken Salad can be a very personal thing. Depending on what your tastes are, a variety of ingredients can be added to create your special sandwich. The creation of a fine sandwich however takes only the basic ingredients:

Cooked chicken, chopped with a Pampered Chef Chopper to get a better texture than big chunks taking up all the room in your mouth. More sandwich in the mouth is better!
celery, chopped small

Squeeze of fresh lemon juice

Hellman’s Real Mayonnaise ( I know I swear by Miracle Whip, but Hellman’s Mayo is a must for chicken salad)

Bread- I tried Rotella’s NEW 100% whole wheat 9 grain. White bread is better left for a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

I used Baby Arugula on my sandwich instead of lettuce. A delightful taste sensation.

To cook chicken breast: Bring enough water in a pan to cover the amount of meat you are cooking. Add some sliced onion, some celery tops, some peppercorns and 2 bay leaves. Don’t add salt. It will dry out the chicken and make it tough. Bring to a boil, add chicken, reduce heat so that only a slight boil is present. Cover and cook for 15-20 minutes til cooked through. Always juicy, never dry.

Kit’s Observations:

I noticed with the addition of lemon juice, I didn’t have the need to add salt.

If I wasn’t so blasted hungry when I got home from work, I would have taken the 3 seconds to slice off some cucumber and lay it on top my sandwich.

There were also several LARGE olives next to the sandwich that I ate before I took the picture. Yes, I ate my subject matter.

One Comment Add yours

  1. monica says:

    I was talking to Kit via telephone soon after she made this sandwich. She really wanted to go and eat it! A pictures worth a thousand words.Well done kitsy mousey!

Leave a Reply

