TOWANDA!

I think my tomato plants have come to their end. The tomatoes on board right now are smaller than they were when they first started coming on and they seem to take forever to ripen. So, without further adieu, I will pull them up and……make some FRIED GREEN TOMATOES.

Make sure that the tomatoes you pick are mature (full-sized) but not yet ripened at all. They should be light green, with not even a hint of pink or red, but they should be far enough along that they have reached full size and the seeds inside are fully formed. I had planted a smaller variety tomato, but a great big beefsteak tomato would indeed be beefier! Although not pictured, I did serve these with a dollop of sour cream on top…TOWANDA!

KITS KOMMENTS: As much as I hate to get all wordy on my posts, this requires a few more sentences. I think that this fulfills the requirement from the Sandwich Board for the Alabama State Sandwich. However, if I was really making the sandwich I would most certainly be frying these up in bacon grease instead of olive oil. And, believe me Taylor Hicks would be nowhere near me!

One Comment Add yours

  1. monica says:

    ive never heard that john denver song!!

Leave a Reply

