Bride of Frankenstein Soup

 

 

More commonly known as Italian Wedding Soup, the look of this soup would scare me and I never wanted to make it. So, with Halloween just around the corner and the cold, tomb-like chill in the air, I thought I’d throw caution to the wind and try it out.

Well, just as I expected I didn’t think too much of it. I thought the cute little flower like pasta called Fiori was rather festive. I kicked up the meatball recipe by using a combination of ground sirloin and ground pork (instead of all ground beef), but the broth just lacked the taste punch I was searching for.

Maybe a can of beans would give it a kick.. I dunno! I also added a good sprinkle of Mrs. Dash and that gave it a little more flavor without adding any more salt. But then I remembered I got the recipe from a Taste of Home site and that could explain it all. Before I serve it to the “Doctor” and “Young Frankenstein”, I think I’ll have to drain it and add some blood red tomato sauce.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mike says:

    I’ve never been all that fond of Italian wedding soup … it always tasted rather bland.

    Maybe what it needs is some blood-red Tabasco!

Leave a Reply

