Sticks to Your Buns!

You can barely see the hot dog in there but it is. The story is is the chili. No beans, all meat and spices makes a great chili dog topping that really sticks to the bun.
Put a skillet over medium heat and drizzle in about 1 tsp EVOO(ahem). When the oil gets hazy, add 1 small chopped onion and 2 cloves garlic chopped, cook, stirring, until it is soft and translucent, about 5 minutes. Add 3 ground beef patties breaking it up with the back of a spoon, and cook until nicely browned, about 10 more minutes. Stir in 1 Tbsp tomato paste, chili powder, paprika, pepper flakes, and salt and pepper to taste. Squeeze in about a tablespoon of Bold ‘N Spicy mustard and simmer for 15 minutes until thickened. I also added about 1/2 can diced tomatoes that I whirled in the food processor for a little loosening agent.
I dolled the dog up after I took the picture with extra raw onions and mustard.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mike says:

    I love chili dogs.

    If I was rich, I’d eat them every day.

    In other news, I found a job and an apartment, move in Wednesday, start work next Monday.

    I will soon be open for house guests, although the place is small … but I figure, who wants to be cooped up inside when you have all Colorado outside?

Leave a Reply

