The Scent of the Slopes

This time of year, right after Christmas and until St. Patrick’s Day has me thinking of ski weather. Although it’s been a longtime since I actually hit the slopes certain smells remind me of skiing. The other day while out for a walk my snooter caught a great greasy smell wafting from the Phoenix Bar and Grill along Blondo. It had that great hamburgery, worcestershirey smell and instantly I thought of French Onion Soup. Whenever we went skiing, French Onion Soup and a Spinach Salad were slated for at least one of our lunches. I picked up the pace thinking only of the delightful lunch waiting for me at home.

I sauteed a half a white onion in some olive oil and a little butter, then I added some Worcestershire sauce and let them get nice and carmelized. Then I heated up a can of Progresso French Onion soup and added the onions for a fresher taste. Split a toasted hard roll in half, lay in an overnproof bowl, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and then poured a healthy ladle of soup and onions over it. Then add a layer of Swiss cheese on top and broil til brown and bubbly. Sure the purists can make their own broth from scratch, but hey I needed my soup right away.

March 1980

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Monica says:

    i love to make french onion soup i use can beef broth and provolone cheese. i used a tyler recipe once but mine is way better i love spinach salads but am still ascared of spinach. Are you sure that picture is 1980? that outfit is timeless!!!

  2. Kit says:

    POSITIVE 1980..Honeymoon in ASPEN!

  3. Gina says:

    I bet you have really sweet sking skills…………..

Leave a Reply

