Feelin My Oats

I never liked oatmeal when I was a kid. The pasty mush had me feeling carsick long before I hit the taxi cab for school. (ha-ha..remember that?) Reading about all the health benefits from oats I was determined to try it again. I bought several different varieties of Quaker Instant Oatmeal and Quick cooking oatmeal. Finally, I came to my senses and tried Steel Cut Oats. Huge Difference! The texture gives your teeth something to bite into and has a robust nutty flavor. Doll yours up any way you like. I added dried blueberries, vanilla, honey and then dribbled in a little milk.
Good! and GOOD for you! (Directions below)

I started with about a tablespoon of butter in a saucepan. I let it melt and added the oats and toasted them for about 3 minutes. Then I added 3 1/4 cups water, brought it to a boil then simmered it, stirring frequently for 30 minutes. During the last 10 minutes of cooking, I added a pinch of salt, 1 tsp vanilla and about 1/2 cup dried blueberries.

P.S. Every time I look at the can I think it says “John McCain”. Our next President of the United States of America.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Monica says:

    Interesting…we were just talking about steel cut oats at our jazzer breakfast last week… i must try them the lady at jazz said she makes enough for a few days and then will micro them in the morning..where did you buy them?

  2. Kit says:

    World Market..but they also have them at Whole Foods.

  3. Mike says:

    Look for Obama’s Oats coming to a grocery store near you.

  4. Jeff says:

    John McCain’s Steel Cut Oats. Now with 100% More NUTS!!!!

Leave a Reply

