From the Valley of the Jolly

on

I’m not sure what vegetable the Jolly Green Giant represents, but ever since I was little he has reminded me of asparagus.

JOLLY GREEN GIANT ASPARAGUS TART

I had some asparagus left from Easter and made this breakfast /brunch bread. Serve with some leftover fried ham and an egg. Don’t forget to scrape the rest of that beet relish from the jar! Ho! Ho! Ho!

Take a Look at This:

22 Comments Add yours

  1. Mike says:

    The funniest thing about the commercial is that midget Mickey Rooney sponsored by the Jolly Green Giant.

    An’ who dey callin a ho?

  2. Monica says:

    man, im so craving asparagus, of course cant find it down here,…at least not on special…the only green they eat down here is fried okra..

  3. Mike says:

    I hope that as good Catholics you are cheering for Xavier.

  4. Mike says:

    Remember that part in the Mass of the Catacumens, “Asperges me, Domine”?

    Every time I went to church I got hungry for asparagus.

    Also, you probably know this, but I’ll repeat it anyway, the Emperor Augustus’s favorite saying was “Quick as boiled asparagus.”

    I really hope you’re cheering for Xavier.

  5. Mike says:

    Field greens, Monica. Ya’ll eat field greens down there.

  6. Kit says:

    C’mon Mike, no one in their right mind cheers for UCLA.

    GO JAYHAWKS!

  7. Kit says:

    [audio src="http://www.gregorian-chant.info/mp3/asperges_me_domine.mp3" /]

    Listen for yourself!

    THOU shalt sprinkle me with hyssop, O Lord, and I shall be cleansed; Thou shalt wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. Ps: Have mercy upon me, O God, according to Thy great mercy. V. Glory be to the Father, and to the Son and to the Holy Ghost. R. As it was in the beginning, is now and ever shall be, world without end. Amen. Ant: Thou shalt sprinkle me with hyssop, O Lord, and I shall be cleansed; Though shalt wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

  8. Mike says:

    I always thought that dub was ’bout white asparagus.

  9. Mike says:

    C’mon, I dont care how much you hate Roy Williams, you cant be for Pitino.

  10. Kit says:

    No way for Pitino..let Roy win so Bill can kick his ass.

  11. Kit says:

    P.S. I HATE the Beach Boys

  12. Mike says:

    What do the Beach Boys have to do with Mickey Rooney???

  13. Kit says:

    Well..once Mickey Rooney and John Stamos aka Uncle Jessie and the Beach Boys put on a show.

  14. Mike says:

    I thought you were calling UCLA the Beach Boys.

    I hate UCLA. Andrew applied to grad school there and they told him no.

    Was Judy Garland in that show? Or was she already pushing daisies?

    I went to the store today and looked all over for white cake with coconut frosting. I couldnt even find a froze Sara Lee one.

  15. Kit says:

    I was.
    I hate UCLA.
    I hate Liza with a Z.
    Got some on my kitchen table.

  16. Diane says:

    Monica what about collards, boiled with plenty of fatback.

  17. Kit says:

    I don’t think either of those two teams are going to the Final Four.

  18. Jeff says:

    Diane,

    Don’t use the word “collards” anymore. They prefer Dutch-American borekale.

  19. Monica says:

    My head is spinning..what is this post about? Mike…Pepperidge Farm has a frozen coconut cake…or..follow the recipe found on this blog..All Calif teams suck ..I always got hungry for Thanksgiving when they say that at church..still do The only green I want down here is Da Money! 12 more sleeps

  20. Mike says:

    I’ve got a craving for apple bars. why are they not in your recipe box?

  21. Kit says:

    I guess cuz it was your craving.

Leave a Reply

